The United States Boomerang Team has represented the United States in 19 World Boomerang Championships (WBC) since 1981, where the US won the “Australia vs. USA Boomerang Championship” down under. No team has won more World Championships than Team USA securing wins in 1981, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1991, 1992, 1994, 2002, 2010 and 2016.


The World Boomerang Cup is held every two year. The most recent World Cup will be held July 21-29, 2018 in Albuquerque, New Mexico in the U.S.A. The two US squads, each comprised of six members, include: Team 1 with Dan Bower, Richard Bower, Logan Broadbent, James Stickney, George Essig and Will Gix. Team 2 with Betsylew Miale-Gix, Kenny Barr, Steve Kavanaugh, Jason Smucker, Adam Stankiewicz, Bob Leifeld & Coach Eli Gepfert.


The two US squads, which compete year-round, are selected bi-annually by qualifying at the US team trials. The top 4 finishers at team trials are placed on the same squad and choose two others to join. The next 4 seeded finishers comprise the next squad and also choose two to fill the roster. Team members re-qualify prior to each World Championship competition.


USA Team Members

Will Gix, Dan Bower, Logan Broadbent, Richard Bower, George Essig, James Stickney (Not Present)

Jason Smucker, Betsylew Miale-Gix, Bob Leifeld, Kenny Barr, Steve Kavanaugh, Coach Eli Gepfert, Adam Stankiewicz


Meet the team

Follow the team

Sponsor the USBA